stress related illnesses are becoming common.

Nowadays, stress-related sicknesses are becoming more and more common. This essay will discuss factors that directly affect the stress level of a person, that is, work-life balance and increased expectations of society. This essay will also offer possible solutions to deal with the problems mentioned above effectively. Due to long working hours, people are finding it challenging to maintain a satisfactory work-life balance. Moreover, every person is expected to perform great in all aspects of life. Work-life balance implies that a person is not only performing excellently on the job but also share strong bonds with his/her family. When one scale demands painstaking effort, generally work due to competitiveness in the said domain, a person starts to feel stress anomaly to the average level. Social media has built unrealistic goals regarding "forced productivity" and "long work equals more work done". For example, IT companies demand continuous changes in software within a limited time. Workers are, thus, forced to work overtime and extended hours forgoing their free time. These factors put pressure on a daily basis that results in stress-related sicknesses in the long run. In order to maintain a benign level of stress, a proper work-life balance needs to be maintained, accompanied by setting reasonable goals when a person set clear-cut time for varied purposes in life such as work, relationships, leisure and detox; managing stress becomes a lot easier. For example, an employee should bargain with his/her boss regarding the number of days he/she will overwork and how much work can be delegated. Besides jiggling the above task, one must establish feasible goals. Viable aims give a sense of achievement without putting tons of stress on a person. In the long run, these goals accumulate to form a bigger picture. In conclusion, today's world, with its fast pace and expectation, is exacerbating the problem of stress that is causing stress-related illnesses. The identified reasons are poor management between personal life and work and high expectations from society. To counter this problem, one needs to maintain a customized work-life balance, in addition to setting realistic goals.