Stress on students and its consequences.

According to MedlinePlus stress definition is: “a feeling of emotional or physical tension. It can come from any event or thought that makes you feel frustrated, angry, or nervous”. Stress is not always bad; it can help you to stay away from a dangerous situation or to deliver your things on the time required. It becomes bad when it starts being chronicled, and this is what is happening to students. Nowadays, students are having a lot of stress problems, they can be caused by different kind of situations that they are going through. Which are these situations and how can we help them? Chronicle stress on students is a problem that has increased over the years. Most of the time, this stress is caused by the fear of making things wrong, also known as perfectionism. A really good example are the nerves and insecurity that students have about their test and grades. And those feelings produce the fear of what might happen or what people are going to think if you do not do the things in the correct way. A common situation of it is the fright of standing out of the crowd or being the center of the attention. That is why most of the students are so nervous about presenting or participating in class, they do not want to do something embarrassing of what their classmates can gossip about. This mostly happens to teens, but it can be presented at all ages. Some experts also say that the social pressure can be a detonating of students' stress. Students can be going through a difficult time, they are probably not giving their 100% effort at school because they have family or economic problems, or maybe they have bullying issues. All this can have a great impact on the school performance and the student´s health. Now let us take a look at the consequences that stress might have on our health. According to LearnPsychology, 20% of college students say they feel stressed “most of the time”. Also the 34% report feeling depressed at least one time in the last 90 days. And 13% have been diagnosed with depression, anxiety or other mental health conditions. This tells us that many students have frequent issues with stress. The more common psychological symptoms are irritability, anxiety, depression, pessimist attitude, feeling of being overwhelmed, less patient, troubles getting concentrated and memorizing things, and difficulties coping with life problems. The physical consequences can be a lot, but the more frequent ones are: headaches, trouble sleeping, nausea and fatigue, muscle aches, getting sick more often, involuntary twitching or shaking and many others. In conclusion, chronicle stress can have a lot of bad consequences on our health. This is why we need to make a change in our life, take things in a better way, be tolerant of frustration and good stress management. Some recommendations for dealing with stress are: to do exercise, have a healthy diet, drink a lot of water to keep your mind clear, get enough sleep and find ways to calm down.