Street Foods: Why it should be consumed?

Lacking of strict quality assurance for food qualities or standards, doctors are concerning the safety of street foods. And they are being accused of severity of health problems; such as cancers and fungal diseases. As a result, the municipal department and government health organizations are trying to set strict rules and to raise the tax from street food vendors. In my own opinion, I don’t this it is helpful to rectify those problems. In contrary, it will cause the other financial related problems to the daily life of middle class people. Street foods are mainly consumed by the working class people as those are in the affordable range for those people. By levying the tax rate will push those meals to be too expensive for poor people rather than leading them to eat healthily. Moreover, there are several benefits from the street foods despite their municipal related garbage problems. Street vendors provide a variety of choices to consumers and can help from boring repeating microwave foods. As compared to those microwave foods from supermarkets and convenience stores, the street foods are freshly prepared, authentic, appealing and much safer from dangerous preservatives. In addition to the cheaper price, the vendors at the street markets are normally the local people in the neighborhood. It is helpful for the local community by eating there rather than eating from big restaurant chains and big brand super markets. In my area, people mostly spend their evening by eating at street markets with their families or friends together. It makes people a time for relaxing without spending loads of cash. The last point but not least is that whenever the street foods become popular, it becomes a tourist attraction too. For example, the street foods in Thailand are one of the tourist attractions and most of the people visit to there because of the popularity of their street foods. The street food in Asian is the most well known in the world and it was even recorded and showed at the most famous program in Netflix. Therefore, in conclusion, putting pressure and levying tax on street food should not be a solution for healthy eating habit. On the other hand, it should be helped to improve their cooking processes which follow the instruction from local health organizations and municipal departments. And government should invest on training and health education programs for the street food vendors.