stopbank and its uses with images

The image depicts the importance of a stopbank and how it can protect the areas where there is a probability of increased floods. Overall, without the construction of a barrier, incase of any water calamity, there are high chances of water raising to a dangerous level near human dwellings which can become an issue of concern whereas the best solution for this is a bank that prevents excess fluid entering from any given river or drain. Firstly, the liquid in the river is taken to have increased to a 100-year flood level and without the existence of a stopbank, this liquid flows freely towards buildings in that area, even though they are raised, they have a heavy chance of getting affected as there will only be a freeboard level of 300mm which is quiet less and is dangerous to have under one's home. However, this issue can be addressed efficiently if there is a construction of a stopbank with a berm and a floodgate, near the drains that are present as this bank can accomadate the freeboard and chanel water which results in lesser amount of water bombarding into housing areas in case of a flood. Even though, a little amount of liquid escapes, it will form a internal ponding area below the residence. Although, internal runoff can also account for water that accumulates under a building, it would not be a matter of concern.