step out comfort zone of you

When in secondary school, I used to think that. . . would be my goal for 3 years in high school. Why? Because I was taught from childhood by my parents that mathematics is a popular subject and winning a national prize in mathematics is called a success. I grew up with that belief for 9 years in school. But everything has changed since I entered my dream high school, VNU-HCM High School for the GIFted, where very talented students gather. Since I started in Grade 10, I was extremely confident in my abilities and enrolled in the team selection exam. Although I have studied extensively, I was amazed when I read the question. No matter how hard I tried during the exam, I still couldn't do it. I returned home disappointed in myself. It was my worst night ever. I lay thinking about myself until 2 am. Lots of things in my head. I wonder what I've always been confident about until now. Is that what I really like? I studied according to my parents' wishes without regard to my interests. Until I fail, I can still choose to keep trying to achieve the goal that I have set. But I decided to stop to explore something new and suitable for me. It has been a difficult decision and I will face a lot of challenges ahead. At first, I was so confused, I didn't know where to start. I spent too much time in the past studying without paying attention to the things around me. I started to find out what my friends do. And the projects and clubs they participate in really make me admire. I also want to participate but I have no experience, what should I do and I have to face the fear of socializing with crowds, which prevents me from participating in any extracurricular activities while at school secondary. Back in the day, I thought participating in those activities was just a waste of time and didn't help with my studies. But I was wrong. I think it will help me to have many good relationships that can help me develop myself. At that time, the school had an organization to recruit collaborators for the school's activities on Vietnam Teachers' Day, I decided to join because it didn't need any experience.