statment of purpose for phd career

Why Did I Choose Opto-electronics? Opto-electronics is a beautiful combination of optics and electronics. It is where I will dedicate myself, where my career will be and where my happiness lies. I started to enjoy doing experiments in optics and electronics in high school. One of my childhood dreams was to be a successful scientist, and I made a serious promise to my grandmother that I would study in the best university in China, Tsinghua University. Ten years later I turned this dream into a reality. I was admitted into Tsinghua University with the highest score on the College Entrance Examination in my county that had a total population of 530, 000 in 1993. Because I was so fascinated by the splendid nature of various optical and electrical phenomena, I chose Optics as my major without hesitation. When I finished my undergraduate study, three labs accepted me as a graduate student and even waived their entrance exams. I finally chose "all optical fiber quantum communication" as my graduate thesis, according to my personal interest. During my three years of Work I found that the overall level of electro-optics technology in China is far behind many other countries. To improve this, I want to learn more modern concepts and technologies at your esteemed university. I am confident that I can attain more achievements in this field. How Did I Prepare Myself for This Goal? My four-year undergraduate program at Tsinghua University and the three-year master degree program at the Chinese Academy of Sciences built a solid base of optics and opto-electronics for me. In order to find out how to use and control various optical phenomena, I feel I must learn more about electronics and computer control. I have taken most of the major courses offered by the electrical engineering department of Tsinghua. As a result, the total credit I earned during my bachelor degree program was 210, which was much more than the required 180. The more I learned, the more I wished to turn my ideas into reality. I think seriously of improving my practical ability. In my undergraduate program, there were many experimental courses, such as the modern optics lab, the electronics lab, etc. I treated every opportunity seriously to achieve progress. I began my research activity in the third year of my undergraduate study. In my first project "Design and setup of three-dimensional laser shows", I diligently studied Single Chip Micyoco Control methods and learned how to control a variety of patterns. I also took part in a series of projects such as assembling several kinds of lasers, helping to design new instruments and repair some apparatus for the lab. For my undergraduate diploma project that I worked on from January 1997 to July 1997, I successfully designed and constructed a single photon-counting system with silicon avalanche photodiodes in the Geiger mode. To get more work experience in academia, especially in opto-electronics, I chose to begin my graduate program at the Lab of Optical Physics, Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. My graduate research has focused on quantum communications. This is a new hot field that involves many subjects such as quantum optics, fiber optics and electronics. I had to study@ApplySeminar 201 many new theories and technologies, and I discussed theoretical and experimental problems not only with my advisors but also with fellow students and colleagues outside the institute. I have gained much practical experience of opto-electronics in the process of solving detailed problems such as maintaining the stability of the whole optical fiber interferometer system, increasing the speed of the single photon detector while decreasing the dark counts, and synchronizing the whole communication system. Finally, I implemented the first aH fiber experimental quantum key distribution systems in China. Besides my main project, I also participated in other research projects in our lab. They are all fascinating and I got a lot of first class experience at the frontiers of quantum optics and quantum information. In order to acquire more knowledge in this field, I attended the workshop on "Quantum entanglement and quantum information" organized by The China Center of Advanced Science and Technology (CCAST) in the summer of 1999. I also paid close attention to new progress in computer science and technology, information technologies and semiconductor technology. I mastered ASIC technology that delivers unparalleled design flexibility to EDA engineers through an engineering project. Five years of research experience infused my enthusiasm with a better sense of direction. I came to know what I really wanted and what I had to do to fulfill my goal. Although my BS is in physics, I now prefer to work in solving practical problems. With my strong physics background and experience in opto-electronics I am sure I can fulfill and contribute to a Ph. D. Program in Electrical Engineering. I am waiting for challenges in the future with expectation and joy. Why Your Institute? During my graduate research, I clearly realized I need more advanced knowledge and skill to fulfill my goal. The research conditions in China are too difficult to realize many ideas that come into my mind. I consider Northwestern my First Choice chiefly because it has a distinguished educational and research reputation, and my major research interest is a good match to so many faculty members. If possible, my main interest in the future will be focused on opto-electronics (include photonics) at Northwestern. I feel that I am qualified to study opto-electronics both theoretically and experimentally. It is my plan to engage in research at Northwestern, and prepare myself for both the most advanced theoretical methods and the newest experimental skills in this field. I will make my best efforts to contribute to the advancement of opto-electronics after my graduation from Northwestern.