The number of elderly has increased over the years which has more positive impact on the economy of a nation.

The given statement is a much in debate. The number of elderly has increased over the years which has more positive impact on the economy of a nation. Older generation have worldly knowledge and can tackle any different situation easily. In the following paragraphs, I intent to put forth my arguments in support of my views. To begin with, Older generation are have learnt from their past mistakes and can devise methods and strategies to increase the productivity, marketing and sales of a good. After years of experience in different fields, old people are often expert in a particular field in which they can perform best. This specialisation can be used to provide an edge to a nation from others. This can be illustrated with a help of an example; agriculture is the main source of earning of people in India since the 19th century. Indians have learnt about their weather conditions, soil and resources available and the ways to effectively utilise these resources to produce high quality rice at minimum cost. The benefits should not undermine the disadvantages of surge in the number of aged people. If a country has more aged people, then there are less number of people who are fit to be employed, which hampers a country’s growth. Often citizens of these countries have a causal attitude and are not willing to contribute to the Country’s GDP. Further, up ticking older generation often leads various social issues such as increase in mortality rate, low birth rate and decrease in population and more unemployment. In the end I would like to emphasize that a greater number of elderly is the demographics of a country provide outweighs its disadvantages and help a nation to efficiently utilise its resources and enhance their strength.