People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What can be done to make people drink less?

It is true that the consumption of sweetened beverages is increasing exponentially. Although this trend can be attributed to a host of reasons, there are several feasible solutions to reduce the intake of sugary drinks. Heavy marketing, as well as affordable prices are the principal reasons why the consumption of sweetened drinks increased rapidly. In terms of advertising, the soft drink manufacturers aim at their target audience of children and adolescents who can be easily swayed to purchase goods impulsively owing to their young age. Secondly, thanks to a free-trade agreement of the authorities in some nations, the prices of drinks including the high concentration of sugar are not exorbitant, therefore citizens can afford them more easily when compared to other types of drinks. If inhabitants insist on using more and more sweetened drinks, it might have a detrimental effect on their health including life-threatening conditions such as diabetes and obesity. On the other hand, those mentioned causes can be tackled by two measures suggested above. Firstly, health awareness campaigns should be launched by the authorities on television as well as social outlets. If the government propagates more healthy products advertisements aiming at children, the number of youngsters consuming sugary beverages would decline. Secondly, raising taxes on the sales of high-sugar drinks is necessary to reduce the consumption of sugary drinks. This has been done in France, for example, taxation of sugar-based drinks in this nation was increased in 2012. As a result, there was a decline in the figure for dwellers using sugary drinks in France. From that, heavy taxes should be imposed on sugary beverages in other countries to curb the large intake of high-sugar drinks. In conclusion, although various factors are leading to the growth in the use of sugary drinks, those suggested effective approaches can be implemented to reverse this trend.