Starting in the 20th century, governments have increased the funding allocated to space exploration which is direc

Starting in the 20th century, governments have increased the funding allocated to space exploration which is directly coming from taxpayers. Even though exploring the space surrounding us can help with preventing possible dangers, as well as finding new sources, the costs of such operations can be diverted to more promising sectors, such as healthcare and education. In addition to having access to the supply of the materials that are scarce on Earth, knowing upcoming dangers beforehand are the main advantages of space exploration. Humans are utilizing Earth's resources at such a rate that, we will be running out of them in a near future. To prevent this, it is necessary to launch space exploration programmes in order to find a new supply of those materials. Furthermore, dangers coming from outside of the world have always worried people. For instance, the meteoroids falling to the Earth are capable of killing thousands of people. If governments have knowledge of that kind of dangers, they can carry out necessary measures to decrease both economical and human losses. Despite the benefits above, space exploration is costly and does not always yield positive results. To illustrate, NASA - the Space Agency of the US costs 22 billion dollars per year, while this money could be used to build new hospitals, schools, etc. Additionally, there has not been a single case that the expeditions sent to space have affected the lives of ordinary people positively. Instead, they have been paying taxes to see no apparent benefits. To conclude, while space exploration can have benefits to the world in form of a new source of materials and the prevention of the upcoming harmful events, the costs allocated to this sector are not proportional to the new findings and could be used to improve other sectors.