Write an essay about advantages and disavantages of social networks such as Facebook, Zalo, . . .

With the Internet now providing us with a variety of online communication platforms, such as Facebook, Zalo, Twitter, it is no doubt true that we can communicate and exchange knowledge in an efficient manner. ​​Social networks have proven to be extremely useful. However, those social networks do come with certain setbacks if misused. On the one hand, social networking sites bring about a lot of benefits. First and foremost, they have become a tool for instant communication and real-time news. Regardless of geographic locations, people can now keep in touch with their loved ones, or simply talk to anyone from all over the world thanks to social messaging apps. Additionally, people can also update news from all over the globe almost instantly via social networks. They facilitate worldwide connectivity and enhance the way people get information. Secondly, social media is also a powerful tool in marketing and business. In this modern age, organizations and companies can keep their clients updated regarding newly-introduced products and services by posting their campaigns on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter. This way of marketing helps to save a great deal of time and expenses compared to the traditional method of advertising in newspapers and magazines. On the other hand, if not properly used, social networking sites will do more harm than good. To begin with, people can easily get addicted to those platforms and eventually isolate themselves from their real relationships. People spend too much time online, and as a result, they get disconnected from their surroundings and damage their daily relationships. Additionally, exposure to constant posts and updates online can lead to information overload. ​​With so many people now on social media, it sure can get pretty noisy. Sometimes people cannot even know if the information they are reading is true or not and they get completely overwhelmed or tired of certain kinds of posts. Last but not least, social networking sites are sadly the base for social peer pressure and cyber bullying. For people struggling to fit in with their peers, especially teenagers, they can easily get tempted to do things that are harmful to themselves, just because they see some of their peers do it. In some extreme cases, some people can become the victims of cyberbullying, which can lead to serious stress, anxiety and even depression. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that social networks come with both advantages and disadvantages. Whether they are beneficial or harmful depends on the way they are used. Therefore, users should be wise and be careful when using those platforms in order to make good use of them.