Youths today feel more pressure than the previous generations

According to this competitive era, people including youths and older generations have to struggle a lot in order to be adaptable with the circumstances. Some would argue that being youths in this age is easier than the previous generations for the sake of the advanced facilities. However, in my view, today’s youths have to face social problems, discontentment with their actual lives and the lack of job opportunities despite having degrees than the other generations. Teenagers of today suffer from huge social pressures since there are plenty of social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc. Social media users post only the good side of their lives which makes people become more insecure and depressed while comparing themselves with the others on these platforms. Nowadays, there are also cyber- bullying and body- shaming which can even force a person to commit suicide. Not only do today’s teenagers undergo the social problems, the advertisements today are also one of the causes that make people discontented with their current lifestyles in view of the fact that advertisements persuade people to buy their products. Consequently, youths feel pressure to acquire these products. Independent adolescents might feel financial pressure since the living costs as well as educational fees are higher than the earlier generations. The number of graduates has been increasing in this age resulting in less job opportunities. Today’s generations who have degrees don’t have the guarantee to get a job whereas there were many opportunities for graduates in the past. As a result, this becomes a factor that makes young people feel more pressure. All in all, whilst I can appreciate that being youths in this era is more convenient to live for the sake of the advanced technologies, I cannot agree that it only has benefits. This is because today’s generations suffer from numerous pressures than the previous generations according to living in the modern age.