Sports should be compulsory in school.

While studies in science and commerce are being glorified by present-day schools, physical education is often overlooked. As much as our brains need to be shaped by fine ideas, our bodies need not be ignored. Practicing sports not only ensures the physical well-being of students, but keeps their minds in high spirits. I believe, it should be mandatory for schools to make sure that kids engage in physical activities. Three arguments to support my opinion and a conclusion is presented below. Firstly, cooperative sports such as football, volleyball, cricket, soccer, rugby etc. help students to learn the importance of teamwork and great heights achieved by trusting one-another. We are often taught the concept of 'self-dependence' but we tend to forget that others also play a significant role in one's success and sports is a great way to convey just that. Secondly, students have been a victim of perfectionism since forever. So when failed to so something, their self esteem comes crashing down. By doing sports, they understand the notion of failure and learn how to cope up with it. They realise that along with failure, come new opportunities to better oneself. Lastly, sports expand their horizons by presenting itself as a plausible career option. Many, like Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, have found their passion in sports. Their hearts reside in cricket and who knows, there might be many more Tendulakars out there who just have to realise their passion. In conclusion, sports is a vital part of our lives and should be compulsory in schools as it teaches us teamwork, how to cope with failure and introduces a whole new spectrum of possibilities.