Sports encourage competition than cooperation. Therefore, school should ban sports.

Some people hold an belief that sports activities promoted competition among players rather than cooperation. As a result, schools had better limit or prohibit such activities. From my own point of view, I strongly oppose this idea for several reasons, which will be listed below. Sports are not only enhancing the competition but also cooperation in players. Except for individual sports, it is clear that some physical games require a strong sense of cooperation among participants. For instance, football, volleyball and basketball are these most well-known team sports that strengthen the cooperation skills for players. When participants are immersed in sports, their communicating abilities are dramatically improved. This is because players have to contact at a frequent rate with teammates during the match, stimulating their minds to work properly. There is no point in banning sports in school since they have brought several benefits for schools and for students. Firstly, the competition and cooperation that sports bring about have trained the persistence and commitment among each student. Most important, students have learnt that the only way leading to success and glory is by hard working. Secondly, owning a huge sports achievements contributes to build up prestige of school. A prestigious academic institution is not only considered to born outstanding scientists but also to train great athletes of all time. Moreover, gifted students, especially in sports field, are welcomed by top tier universities. For instance, the Havard University and Princeton University show their preference for the champion team of the USA’s high school basketball league as they will provide a full scholarship for them. To sum up, I totally disagree with the above opinion for aforementioned reasons.