Sports and athletics events such as the Olympics is the most prestigious events for a country to host.

Sports and athletics events such as the Olympics is the most prestigious events for a country to host. Organizing an international event for sports is also merit for any country. One of the important reasons is it provides our local sportspeople an opportunity to see, learn and improve their skills. And also it creates job opportunities for the unemployed. It also brings awareness about various kinds of sports that many may not know. For example, a lot of Indians are only aware of cricket, but some don't even know that hockey is their national game. This will also provide an opportunity for countries to show their culture to the overseas players and teams. For instance, when we think of India, a lot of people think that the Indians speak Hindi, but little did they know that there are hundreds of official languages. Some may also feel that this is not good for the nation, one of the reasons is that the money spent for hosting the event may be used in the development of the country. And also some countries try to hide the reality, for example, a country tried to clear the slums temporarily in order to hide the poverty in the country. They painted the walls, cleaned the roads, and build temporary walls around the slum areas to hide the reality and to give them the best impression. And these changes may not last long. This will definitely raise questions in minds of the citizens and they will take this as a demerit for the development of the country. In conclusion, we can say that it is a good thing for a country to host global sports competitions but it must create a permanent solution for their local problems instead of covering them for the sake of the events.