Government should spend money constructing new houses rather than preserve historic buildings.

The government needs to allocate its revenue appropriately in order to ensure the properisty of the society. When it comes to construction, I believe that spending money on new housing has primacy over preserving historical or traditional buildings for the government. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explain in the following paragraphs. First, building new housing has a direct positive impact on people’s living conditions. To have a safe, comfortable, and convenient place to live in is one of the top needs of human beings. A man’s housing condition directly affects his physical and mental health. On the other hand, historical or traditional buildings is more of cultural importance, which comes secondary compared to the more urgent need. What happened in my hometown district last year is a good example of this point. Two people’s representatives were running for the leader of the town council. One person was advocating for constructing new residency for local farmers to improve their housing conditions, while the other one had announced that he would start a project of turning a 50-year old school building into a muesum of local traditional kneating art. In the end, the first person won the election and our local government started the construction of new housing early this year. This example shows the significance of building new housing for the people, and there the government should strive to meet this need. Second, it is difficult for the government to decide which heritage buildings need to be preserved, while building new housings meet many people’s demand as I have just stated above. Specifically, if a city or a country has many old neighborhoods with historical or traditional values, the local or nantional government’s choice of preserving certain buildings would likely to incur controversy among its citizens, which futher leads to critique and even protest. For example, I read from the online news that Sichuan province of China had a fund for the Department of Culture to renovate the homes of some of its famous people. There were several candidates, but both officials in the department and the citizens had different opinions. Even after several public debates, online votes, and interviews, the project was not decided for six months. In the end, the government had to reassign the project to two nonprofic organzations, and as a result, the local government only played a secondary role in the house preservation project. In conclusion, if the government has limited resources and money, it is more important to building new housings than preserving old buildings with special values. It is because the government has the responsibility to provide basic needs of home for its residents.