in many countries, children are obliged to learn a foreign language at a very young age. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this? Give a reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience rgok

In numerous countries, children are obliged to learn a foreign language at a young age, with schools introducing one to students as early as third grade. While the advantages provided by this system can be great, there are disadvantages resulting from it as well. The practice of requiring kids to learn a new dialect is common in areas where English is not the primary language, since it has spread and is the most spoken around the world. Fluency in English is a very useful trait in almost every career choice. This is the reason why young students start lessons from as early as it is possible in order to comprehend the new skill. The main idea is the longer kids practice a language the more comfortable they get with oral and written communication. Aside from this, it provides young students with more choices for the future, for example moving to another country for studies or to pursue better career prospects. On the other hand, the drawbacks from expecting children to start taking lessons on a foreign language from a young age should not be taken lightly because of the significant benefits. Most students are under a lot of pressure even at a young age to excel in school and a new skill can only add to the already existing baggage. Some kids feel that their free time is decreasing so they start to rebel or spend less time studying, which is the most serious consequence of the system. Not having enough time to study properly can influence negatively the students’ knowledge of the native language. In conclusion, given my experience I would agree that fluency in a second language will prove necessary in the children’s future. However, we should reconsider, not only the time spent studying for a foreign language, but also the age students start taking lessons. That way we can achieve the benefits of the new skill while minimizing the possibility of the disadvantages.