Spending time online has affected the communication skills of young people both positively and negatively.

The age of technologies and social media has completely changed the way people communicate. Nowadays, people tend to call or write a message instead of face-to-face conversation. Social media is a convenient way of communicating because people save their time and stay in their comfort zone. However, some people argue that spending time online has greatly affected the communication of young people. Scientists prove that social media platforms affect communication skills. The thing is the more time people spend online, the less time they spend socializing in person. It is much easier to break the news via social media or messengers instead of telling it in person. People don’t need to keep eye contact or watch for their intonation. However, psychologists assert that communication without body signals and other nonverbal cues such as eye contact or facial expressions is not effective. Scientific researchers declare that lack of communication in person can cause introversion or depression. On the other hand, online communication is an integral part of our lives, especially during a pandemic. It is easy to call your colleagues, text your friends, or facetime your family. People can communicate from different parts of the globe without difficulties. Who can imagine that people can see each other at long-distance?  Moreover, social media is a great opportunity to meet new friends based on similar interests, beliefs and views. For example, my aunt met new like-minded people on the Internet, with whom she can share and exchange information, ask for their opinion and be a part of society. To sum up, online communication does change the way people interact with each other. Online networking has expanded and turned into a routine for everyone. It helps people to communicate quickly and easily, find new people and be a part of society. However, it can greatly affect your mental health causing depression. Nevertheless, everyone is responsible for his/her life and health and decide how much time stay online.