spending money on scientific research should only be approved when there are economic benefits resulting from it.

Scientific researches have been carried out more frequently in recent decades. Some say that, only the economically beneficial ones are to be approved. I partially disagree with this opinion. Personally, I believe that such researches should be prioritized, however, other researches that are not aiming to earn profit are also approvable. Unprofitable scientific projects should also be allowed. By allowing these projects, more discoveries could be made. For instance, if an official research of an alternative fuel source is carried out successfully, then consequently, the shortage of fossil fuel will not become a serious crisis in the future. Undoubtedly, the discoveries made by unprofitable researches are potentially able to bring significant benefits to the human race. in the long term, carrying out such investigations has the potential to lead to milestones in scientific development. Therefore, governments are to also approve the investigations that doesn't result in much profit. However, even though non-profit-making investigations can bring long-term benefits, prioritizing the profit-making ones is still a smarter approach. Approving these researches can improve global economy, which is able to bring short-term improvements on people's life-quality. in addition, more profit allows more funds can be shared for other types of researches. For example, if the government spends most of the funds on the economically beneficial researches, then the profits made can be used for any other long-term investigations that doesn't guarantee a significant profit. Accordingly, the profitable researches are the priority. To conclude, both types of research are to be approved, as they can bring different benefits. However, if the scientific investigation guarantees a favourable profit, it certainly should be approved in the first place.