Some schools restricted students from using their mobile phones. Do you think this is a positive or a negative one?

In the modern days, mobile phones have become popular among students worldwide. However, due to the controversy of such devices being harmful to students health and studies, many schools applied various restrictions on student’s mobile phone usage. Consequently, the positives brought by this action are ignorable. Restricting students from using their mobile devices leads to fewer distractions. When phones are being kept in pockets, students are highly likely to be disturbed by their loud, vibrating notifications. As a high school student myself, I can certainly say that most of us have poor self-control. Social media, for example, is difficult to resist when students have the chance to access them. Therefore, limiting the use of phones among students eliminates the chances of students getting distracted from learning, which can improve their academic performance. Additionally, a healthier lifestyle can also be achieved by applying limitations on mobile device usage. Research shows that mobile devices are highly addictive, especially for teenagers. Without any restrictions in school, these devices could be overused by students. As a result, students may concentrate less on their studies, and become too dependent on mobile phones. Potentially, this can even lead to serious issues in the future, such as internet addiction and truancy. However, by restricting access to their phones, such problems are to be avoided. In conclusion, limiting students from using their mobile devices is a positive action, because not only it increases students' academic success, but also reduces the chance of addiction, and therefore maintaining a healthy lifestyle.