Spending money in enhancing the means of transport is often a context which has numerous opinions and equal number of oppositions. Few

Spending money in enhancing the means of transport is often a context which has numerous opinions and equal number of oppositions. Few people opine that investments should be directed towards the railways development, while others argue that roadways need a higher share of the funds. In my opinion, funding rail and road routes are of equal importance and this essay will discuss the same. Firstly, several people believe that increasing train routes will help bring down the traffic congestion issue, which is not feasible in every situation. Moreover, having more surface tracks needs huge land area for building railways stations and the tracks will be longer in comparison with the roadways. However, underground trains have been proved to be a better option. Countries with subway systems have provided significant evidence of their effectiveness in reducing traffic congestion. Hence, laying train tracks strategically is important rather than merely increasing the counts. Secondly, widening and maintaining the existing roads is equally essential to accommodate the increased use of private vehicles. Constructing flyovers in areas where widening is not possible is a tremendous solution. Several such issues in Hyderabad are being solved by planning new flyovers. Also, damaged roads cause major congestion which needs to be addressed by proper maintenance. Thus, government should spend enough money on roads development as well. To sum it up, focusing on enhancing a single transport means alone is never a good thought. And I think, officials have to consider investing in both roads and railways, as and when required rather than investing in only one of them.