IELTS TWO PART QUESTION: WASTING FOOD

In this day and age, the individuals tend to discharge food bought from restaurants or shops. There are number of reasons behinds this phenomenon including advertisement and people’s awareness, so several solutions should be adopted by the government to improve the situation. The primary reason why citizens waste food is the heavy advertisement from food companies and enterprises. People who are target audience are swayed by the adverts on social media and opt for food product leads to buying them excessively. Another reason of this tendency is the people’s awareness. It is high likely that they engross in sense of achievement while showing off on social media by taking picture of highly recommend food which they had bought, and then discharge it into rubbish. Therefore, this phenomenon results in the rise of rubbish which devastates the environment and the quality of life. The government should immediately takes steps to reduce the amount of food waste. Firstly, national and local authorities could run campaign to raise awareness of people about the harm of wasting food. Thus, people would be more prudent and cautious on buying food appropriately. The government could raise tax on advertisement, moreover, to limits the detrimental effect that adverts bring to the public. In conclusion, it is clear that people discharge food because of the advertisement and also awareness, and government should address this problem immediately. Thus, the life standard and environment could be enhanced by not being affected by excessive food wastes.