‘spare the rod and spoil the child’ is a saying which means that child should be disciplined for their own good. What are your views on the topic of discipline?

Throughout the centuries, there have been multiple strategies, regarding children’s upbringing and most rely on the principle of discipline. But some parents strongly disagree with this viewpoint. In my opinion, youngsters should be regulated, but to a certain level and in this essay I will explain why. Firstly, some parents, because of their urge to protect their child and grow him up as a complete individual, tend to be extremely strict. Although, this might sound ideal, it is not. This has severe consequences for their child’s future, mostly in becoming a part of the society. To illustrate, from my own experience, my cousin was disciplined in a harsh way till he was 18, after that he went to University and found difficulties in communicating and making friends. Finally, in this way they disregard his needs to socialise and have fun at a younger age, which can result in extreme behaviours in the future. On the other hand, there are some parents that give too much freedom to their children. As a result, they do not listen to them, and spend all their time on having fun with friends or playing video games, rather than thinking about their future. For example, the University of Cambridge surveyed and found out that, 75% of youngsters that were barely disciplined at a young age, ended up either unemployed or working in minimum wage jobs. Lastly, the lack of control, can lead their children, in some cases, to unpleasant situations, such as illegal substance use. Taking everything into consideration, it’s my firm belief that, having moderate control of your child is the key to a balanced upbringing. This will give him the chance to have a social life, while also achieve higher goals and ensure a prosperous future.