In order to improve a country’s education system, high school students should be encouraged to publicly critique their teachers online. Do you agree with this? What are some other ways high school education could be improved?

Arguments over how to improve a country’s education system have been going on for a very long time. Often different strategies work for different countries. However, allowing high school students to openly critique their instructors online is a strat- egy that I feel does not improve the quality of high school instruction in any country. Alternative school scheduling and teacher monitoring through video are much better approaches and will be analysed for viability in this essay. Firstly, modified school scheduling improves education in a way that openly critiqu- ing teachers does not. For example, many Scandinavian school boards run education systems that take short, periodic week-long breaks throughout the academic year instead of one larger two-month break at summertime. Overall, students have just as much holiday time as their peers in traditional holiday arrangements, but there is not such a long, education-deterring break at summer, and this allows students to mentally retain more of their studies. This arrangement is clearly a more plausible alternative to arguments supporting the open criticism of teachers on the internet. In addition to this, schools should consider videotaping classes to both monitor teacher performance and student conduct. I once taught at a school with this ar- rangement and found it made it much easier for students’ parents to stay attune to both their children’s lessons and conduct during class time. Such a system would also ensure all critiquing of the teacher is carried out by adults and not teenag- ers, a vetting process that would likely produce more insightful criticism. Thus, the plausibility of this alternative is clear It can be concluded that both a paced academic schedule and class transparency would more effectively improve high school education than the proposed online criti