Space research is always a highly controversial issue, generating a great deal of public debate. Some people are of the opinion that spacial research programs have yielded substantial advantages for humanity. However, those point out that government should invest more money in other sections of society. I believe that money from government should be spent on both space projects and other sources.

Space research is always a highly controversial issue, generating a great deal of public debate. Some people are of the opinion that spacial research programs have yielded substantial advantages for humanity. However, those point out that government should invest more money in other sections of society. I believe that money from government should be spent on both space projects and other sources. Space exploration brings certain benefits to mankind. First, space research contributes to protect our planet and environment. For instance, it is generally acknowledged that scientists use million of satellites every year. Because they provide data on weather forecast, climate change, pollution measurement, etc. Moreover, satellites data can be used to predict natural disasters and to support emergency relief efforts. Take Vietnam as an example, million of citizens were evacuated from the flood-stricken area in October, 2020 thanks to previous predictions. As a result, this contributed to reduce damages to local people and assets during that time. Second, experiments performed in space help us understand health problems on Earth. From that, people could find lots of ways to handle these issues. On the other hand, I can understand the arguments against government funding for space research. The main reason for this view is that governments have more important concerns. For example, state budgets need to be spent on education, healthcare, infrastructure and security, among other areas. These public services are vital for a country to function properly. In conclusion, it is necessary for government to spend money on society’s concerns, but in my opinion space exploration is an indispensable part to our lives.