In such a fast-paced world, it is obvious that we seem to neglect the important things in the family, especially the generation gap

In such a fast-paced world, it is obvious that we seem to neglect the important things in the family, especially the generation gap, which I learned through the short story "flight" and I will also provide my own perspective toward this generation gap and suggest the best way to deal with it. In terms of the grandfather's thinking in the short story, observing Alice near the gate where seems a transition between home and outside the world as well as childhood and maturity brings him a chilly feeling which is vividly described via a wide range of such action " Waiting for steven, hey? he said, his fingers curling like claws into his palm then " think you want to leave home, hey? ", "Think you can go running around the fields at night? and I will tell your mom". Through all of the above actions of the old man illustrate that he wants to keep his own thought toward Alice' love. However, Alice feels free to reply to her grandpa like " Tell away! she said, laughing and went back to the gate. he heard her singing, for him to hear: i've got you under my skin, i've got you deep in the heart of. . . ". it can be seen that the conflict between the old man and his daughter was rising because of lacking understanding and sympathy for each other. After learning such a wonderful short story "Flight ", I myself knew that sharing and creating a sense of tolerance plays a significant role in shaping a strong relationship, family bonds included. In fact, my own family, luckily, never have any conflicts when it comes to love or marriage because thanks to having a sit-down meal, sharing our ups and downs had lead to a strong relationship in my family. In other words, the generation gap could deteriorate either our mental health or cognitive development because of its disadvantage such as lack of fully understanding to each other lead to children could disobey to their parents, as a result. If I were Alice, I would have gently shared my own thoughts because I love my grandpa from the bottom of my heart. " If you truly love someone, set them free " In conclusion, the generation gap would no longer be a threat if we ourselves should be open-minded and share with each other to have a sustainable life to thrive