Space exploration costs taxpayers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantage of spending money on space exploration?

It is true that sending satellites for space research needs a huge investment of taxpayers’ money annually. While there are certainly some benefits like addressing the climate changes and finding a habitable place other than earth there are certain drawbacks to be taken in to account. On the one hand, celestial research is associated with lots of benefits. To start with, one benefit of space exploration is that it provides an opportunity to find a habitable place outside of earth. To be more precise, planet earth is highly populated and there is a limitation of natural resources and this is pushing the international countries to fund more space exploration programmes to find an alternative place for humans. To illustrate this, the American space research organisation NASA has spent trillions of dollars in exploration of Mars through experiments and has found out evidence of water. Secondly, planet earth is faced with climatic changes like global warming. Space stations act as vital sources of information and help predict natural disasters. A good example of this is the space station by Russian team which orbits around the earth and gives a clear picture of the forthcoming natural events. However space research has its own downsides which ought not to be neglected. One drawback of spending taxpayers’ money on space research is that other areas that need development are neglected. What I mean is that spending exorbitant amount of money on building space ships will deprive the public of basic amenities like healthcare, education and infrastructure. Another issue involved in space exploration is that it risks the life of astronauts who are part of it. For example, due to technical errors the Challenger and the Columbia space shuttles by NASA on their way to earth exploded causing the death of all the crew members.