Eating to much sugar is harmful to health. Some people think that governments should be responsible for limiting sugar of people consumption. Other think that individuals should take responsibility for how much sugar they eat. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions

Sugar is an important source of energy for the human body but excessive intake can be abysmal. According to some people, governments are responsible for the health of their citizens and hence they ought to control sugar consumption, while others opine that it is a personal choice. Although governments can levy heavy taxes on the sugar industry or run public awareness campaigns, I believe that it is an individual’s responsibility to limit their sugar intake. In any country, it is the compliance of the government to keep the nation healthy and fit. Since the state controls the prices of commodities, they can implement measures to reduce the sugar intake. They can impose high taxes and a strict limit on the amount of glucose in sugary products. For example, if the prices of chocolates are sky-rocketing due to high tariffs, people will be discouraged to buy them. Secondly, governments should run awareness programs to educate people about the ramifications of excessive sugar intake. Consequently, more people will become aware and consumption rates will decrease. On the other hand, there are several plausible reasons that people should take care of themselves. Our health is our responsibility. An excess amount of blood-sugar might lead to ailments, such as diabetes and liver disorder. To halt this situation, they should curb their sugar usage by adopting other alternatives like sugar free products, do regular health checkups and stay active. Therefore, I concur with the thought of limiting sugar consumption by the public only as they are the best judge of their health status. To conclude, governments should launch awareness initiatives, in my opinion, it is the responsibility of individuals to restrict themselves from consuming more sugar and take precautions to avoid any negative consequences on health.