Sometimes spouses have to live far away from each other. Maintaining long distance relationships is sometimes difficult and straining. What do you think are the main reasons for distance relationships? What can be done to help couples feel closer?

Nowadays long distance relationships are becoming increasingly common due to work, education and health conditions for one of or both spouses. This type of relation can be stressful and tough for the spouses. However, there are a number of ways to help them due to new technologies: video calls, messengers (Skype, Whats app, Telegram). Moreover, today people can travel faster than before due to planes and high speed trains. One of the most common causes of distance relationships is work. People get one of the lifetime opportunity from another country that they could not get in their homeland and are faced with a dilemma to achieve a new level in their career and be separated from their spouse or stay and live together. Things could be more complicated if a couple have kids. In other words, one of them should stay with children. The same is applicable for education or health conditions of one of the partners. For example, my uncle took an opportunity and went to another country for better work. It was a stressful decision for him and his wife, they have two kids and one of the kids was in the middle of first grade of elementary school. Decision was made my uncle went along to Russia while my aunt and cousins stayed in Azerbaijan. Being far away from each other is hard for all of them: my uncle sometimes misses important things in his children's life, kids miss their dad and my aunt should manage how to cover my uncle’s back and raise kids together. However, they visited each other before COVID. Pandemic made things worse due to flight cancelations. My uncle is always in touch with his wife and children via WhatsApp and FaceTime, unfortunately, it could not replace live communication and every day routine with your family. The way to solve this problem is remote work, however, for some jobs it is unacceptable as for my uncle's job. There is also another way as support from the workplace for relocating family. The last, but not least solution is give competitive salary/education/healthcare and opportunities for citizens, consequently, they could stay with their family in their homeland. In conclusion, the main causes of distance relationships are better work conditions, education and healthcare. Sadly, I think that nothing could help them to be closer, they just should live together.