Advertising influences people to buy things such a clothes and shoes. What are the problems caused by that? What solutions can be given

It is indeed true that advertisement promotes consumerism. This essay will highlight the problems caused by this and provide possible ways to counteract this issue. Arguably, the gravest problem caused by advertisement of goods is the dissatisfaction it brings to customers purchasing the items advertised. This is due to the showcase of a well-photographed and edited images been displayed despite the inferiority these products may possess. For instance, Tribune, a popular Nigerian news outlet, reported the case of a furniture maker who sold low quality furnitures at an exorbitant price in Lagos, Nigeria. Furthermore, it promotes the fondness of materialism. This is as a result of exposure to different branded items that are well displayed. This In turn cause consumers to become impulsive buyers of items, even though they don’t need them. Turning to possible solutions to overcome these issues. Firstly, the sellers of these advertised products should allow payment of products on delivery. If this is practiced, it would permit good accessibility of the quality, usefulness of the products and satisfaction of the buyers before they are financially cleared or else, they will be returned. Also, advertisement can be banned. If this is effected, it will disable people from getting carried away and purchasing nicely displayed goods, and they will only buy what is necessary. In conclusion, although there are problems associated with the impact of advertisement which include, customer discontentment and the materialism effect, there are various measures to circumvent these issues such as, prohibition of advertisement and product delivery before payment.