Psychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses, nevertheless they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities.

Perhaps a mental disease is never similar to physical disorders hence, people are generally reluctant toward the mentally ill as compared to handicaps. I strongly agree with the statement and this essay will throw some light on some of its root causes. In most cases, lack of awareness in society is the main factor responsible for not considering psychological illness as a serious issue. People are not aware of different mental problems like depression, autism, anxiety, panic attacks, bipolar disorders etcetera and therefore consider it more related to stress rather than mental illness. For example, In rural areas, it is commonly seen that instead of understanding the psychic issue, people relate it to some ghostly possession. Furthermore, there is another category of people who always distance themselves from mentally unstable individuals considering them violent and in the fear of getting hurt from them. These people don't realize that a mentally ill person is more likely to hurt themselves rather than others. To illustrate, a person with a panic attack or bipolar disorder is always avoided by society in the fear of mishandling because these people during an attack behave differently and can't control themselves. To sum up, Undoubtedly physical disability is more visible instead of psychological inability and is commonly neglected by society due to lack of awareness and fear of getting hurt. People with mental problems should not be considered as less human and efforts should be made to understand them, which is their best cure.