Some university programs require students to complete an internship before graduating. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having this requirement? Give reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Many universities nowadays require undergraduates to fulfill an internship program before graduation. This is an integral part of the requirement for senior students. In this essay, I will show some advantages and disadvantages of this prerequisite. There are some advantages for students to complete an internship before graduating. Firstly, students might gain a lot of work experience in a real workstation after several months of internship. Internship is a good period of time to help a student have a chance of lifetime to get experience from a company or an organization where they are likely to work in the future. Secondly, internship is also a great chance for a student to work in a professional environment with people who have the same goals in future career path, interests to share with, and fields to develop together for a prosperous future. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of having internship time before finishing university programs. Firstly, having a nine-to-five job as an intern will take up a lot of time of a student. This drawback will cause many problems for students such as they have to spend more time at night completing their assignments on time, they may be exhausted after a long night study, this may have some bad impacts on their health. Moreover, during the internship time, interns have to put a lot of effort on tasks which they are requested to do to accomplish their work before deadlines in a certain company. In conclusion, with these above grounds, I believe there are both advantages and disadvantages to requiring internships for university students. Students may achieve a lot of precious experience to serve for both their academic performances and future job during the internship time. Universities could also limit the amount of time that students spend interning.