Should the Charter be modernized to reflect change in society?

The values and thoughts of society have changed a lot in this age, because of that, some people think that the Charter should be modified to respond to current trends and situations. However, I disagree with this idea due to a couple of reasons. Firstly, the Charter establishes the foundation of the country. The Charter was enacted by the strict process and cautious discussion in order to guarantee the public right. Citizens’ right is the most important thing to the country, if the Charter, which guarantees peoples’ right, can be modified easily, the right of people will also absolutely be affected by that. For example, if the government modifies the official language due to the growing number of speakers, it will affect a lot of people who have always used the former official language to a great extent. Furthermore, the politicians will utilize the Charter to be an election trick. Once the modifying by charter become a periodic work, the politicians will use that to attract voters of the specific groups, which will make the Charter lose its value and be cheap eventually. In other words, the best way to maintain the value and dignity of the Charter is to keep it unchanged and only modify it when encountering urgent situations or suffer major changes in the country. In conclusion, the Charter is the foundation of the country, modifying it may cause severe issues for the country. Therefore, no one even the party in power should be able to modify it easily.