Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Online education is a comparatively new trend and thousands of educational institutes have already embraced this method to offer their courses. While some negative aspects cannot be ignored, advantages of this trend far outweight its demerits. To begin with, many universities have offered e-learning and short courses which can bring positive impacts towards society. The widespread of the internet makes it handy for people to enrol in a courses regardless of the distance and time. For the same reason this trend has encouraged numbers of students of various age groups to attend universities and achieve the degree of education they desire. For example, according to recent research published by University of Washington, the number of students who enroled for various education institutes from 2018 to 2021 has increased by 30% due to online courses that are offered by those institutes. Following this, the research has predicted that this may benefit to development of US in the future because bigger percentage of population will be educated and will attain higher degree of education. The downside of this trend is lack of interaction between teacher and student which is imperative for full learning experience. Most students memorize better if visual and audotory demonstration of the teacher is included, it helps them to absorb the lecture and it has major impact on learning progress. From my experience, in the nursing studies, if blood collection is only taught by theory without demonstration and practice, the lecture would be incomplete and incomprehensible. Hence, this kind of demonstration is imperative for many professions and it cannot be taught online. To conclude, technological advancements in education, especially online education, is a great leap towards a world without illiteracy and unemployment. Hence, this is such a positive development though it lacks a teacher's direct supervision and demonstration for certain professions that require practical learning.