SOME UNIVERSITIES NOW OFFER THEIR COURSES ON THE INTERNET, SO THAT PEOPLE CAN STUDY ONLINE. IS THIS A POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT?

As the number of technologies is developing, the attitude to education has changed recently. In this regard, there are some courses taught at universities which are available through the Internet, as a result students now are able to study the places where are comfortable for them without leaving their homes. While there are useful positive consequences of this offer, I would argue that these are outweighed by the disadvantages. In regards to advantages, the main benefits of studying online at universities is saving the things that we often waste when we attend offline courses, including our time and money. Sometimes it takes much to go the universities, as a consequence we squander our time on the way. In fact, some educators propose that those living in big cities wait in traffic when they go work or study more than 50 hours annually. If they spend on much of their time staying at home studying online, they can do some other activities. Furthermore, by saving the money which is used to bus fare, you can buy another thing, for instance the items you use on a daily basis. However, despite such grave benefits, they are not so practical as we think and must be considered against the disadvantages of studying online. Because, it might breed some problems not only related to our health and quality of education, but also our mannerism. It is vividly clear that most people suffer from bad eyesight because of screens. Moreover, it may result underperformances in the quality of education, since it is unmanageable to ask anything from the teacher if you misunderstand the lesson which causes students’ grade to be low. A further disadvantages of online courses, the students who study lessons through the internet a lot, might be wrapped up in their isolated world, because they less interact with their friends in real life when they are at home, as an outcome they find it difficult to make acquaintance and meet with people. In conclusion, I believe that the drawbacks of online courses are greater than the advantages, useful though they are.