Some companies spend a lot of money on scientific research and use animals for testing. Do the advantages of using animals in research outweigh its disadvantages?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on animal rights, especially experiments tested on animals. Although the drawbacks of conducting animal experimentation to do scientific research are varied, in my opinion, it still brings more significant benefits. On the one hand, some people have arguments that testing on animals for scientific purposes is disadvantageous in some aspects. In terms of subjects of experiments, it is believed that animals have to suffer many pains since they are given an illness so that their reactions can be used to measure the effectiveness of a new drug. However, benefits to humans are not justifiable enough to cause that level of suffering for animals, so humans have no rights to subject animals to such kinds of trauma. Besides, giving humans the privilege to decide the lives of other species can somehow kindle the evil and cruelty inside them, making society full of inhumane and immoral people as well as putting many animals at risk of becoming threatened. On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that the advantages of animal testing remain irreplaceable, outweighing the mentioned drawbacks. In particular, there is an irrefutable fact that carrying experiments on animals can contribute significantly to billions of human lives being saved. This can be exemplified by many surgical techniques such as open-heart surgery or heart transplants were developed through using animals. Besides, animals can act as a model for the study of human diseases since they and humans share hundreds of illnesses. As a consequence, the use of animals for experiments can provide a great deal of relevant knowledge of the body’s functions, and many of the new drugs being marketed today were in part created thanks to this process. In conclusion, I am more convinced that the disadvantages of conducting experiments on animals are surpassed by the aforementioned advantages as these approaches make great contributions to the well-being of the public.