Some think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, motivating and encouraging people to work hard is becoming an important issue. Some claim the best approach is that amount of salaries should depend on employee’s productivity and sales, others including me argue this solution is not practical in many job positions and most of the times. One reason why it is not possible to pay workers based on the amount of the product they sold or produced is that in some jobs workers do not produce or sell but they are doing a task given to them. For instance, teachers or tutors have to teach according to standard curriculums, the subject syllabuses are defined, so measuring their work level is somehow impossible. This is also the major issue in other occupations like accounting, human resources, health services or any other job that provides a service to the customers. Furthermore, the efficiency of workers in most conditions accords to the seasons or particular part of time and is fluctuating annually, therefore, in these cases workers lose their attention towards their job as a result of earning different wages during the year. Consequently, they cannot rely on their wages, for instance, invest their earnings and get a loan and pay its debt monthly. Construction workers, or employees of selling departments are some examples. However, some think higher salaries for more productive personnel and staffs would encourage their other colleagues to work harder, in my opinion this leads to an envious atmosphere and healthy environment of the workers may be collapsed due to intense competition amongst them. In conclusion, I strongly believe that increasing salaries for hard workers is not the best approach to motivate job participants because most jobs are servicing and also frequently are time dependent.