Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one

Effectiveness of using mobile phones are not debatable in this modern era, where it is a mode for connectedness, safety and information. While, some educational institutions has restricted the use of smart phones in their premises. This essay will discuss in details whether it is a positive impact or negative one. Firstly, restricting phone in the classroom itself can improve learning. This is simply because without these device, there are far fewer distractions for teachers and students. When a student has their phone on their lap, there is a irresistible urge to check constantly texts, alerts or social media updates. Even the most observant teacher cannot prevent them from sneakily checking their messages and scrolling irrelevant contents. These distractions draw attention from their important educational matters and errode attention span, which in turn will affect their academic progress in future. Therefore a blanket ban in mobile phones will free the learners from compulsive checking and distractions.