cementing relationships with old friends is more important for happiness;

Friends are playing a significant role in our route to create our personality. As a persian proverb says "You tell me who are friends, then I tell you who you are". Some people believe cementing relationships with old friends is more important for happiness; however, others believe establishing new friendship is better. As far as I'm concerned, making old friendships deeper and developing them can be more effective to make us content for several reasons among which the most chief ones are as follows: we can rely on long-term friendships, we can reveal our true character, and our emotions contract in this type of friendship. First of all, I heard from someone that if a friendship maintains for 10 years, that relation is not a friendship anymore. Friends in that relationship are family members for each other. To illustrate, I tell my secrets only to my family, and only one of my old friends. Although I spend much time with a colleague of mine, I am not able to share my feelings with him. On the contrary, I am comfortable talking about my emotions with my old friend, Mehtis. For example, I really loved my girlfriend in university. When we broke up, the only one that I told her, was Mehtis. Moreover she was very supportive and assisted me to leave those hard days behind. Second, old friendships are more reliable than fresh friendships. Old friends understand our problems and we count on them in confronting problems. For instance, last year I lost lots of money in the stock market. Furthermore, I was unemployed and I was in a tight budget. Ali, one my old friends, Found out about the issue, due to this fact he borrowed me money. It is not possible for me to imagine if I have asked my newer friends, and they had helped me. Finally, one of the advantages of old relations is that you can be yourself without any mask or ego. For instance, when I meet new people I try to be nicer than my true self, due to the fact that I want to have a good impression on them, and also know more about them to adapt a perfect way to start a good relationship. Similarly, they do not disclose all their beliefs and prospects; as a result, we should grow the friendship step by step, which is time-consuming and may not pay off. To sum, there is a controversy about whether it is better to keep old friendships or make new friends. Personally, I prefer spending my time with my old friends instead of wasting my time for new friendships because old friends are reliable, they are good help in severe conditions, and also I can be myself with them.