Some students prefer to enroll in easier classes so they can earn a higher grade. Other students opt for challenging courses, even though they might receive a poorer grade. Which type of class do you prefer?

There is no shortage of opinion on the argument of taking easier classes and getting good grades or enrolling in difficult courses and scoring poor. In my opinion taking challenging courses even though not getting a score good is beneficial to me. I feel this way for a few reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs. Firstly, I have firm believe in the concept of taking challenges, be it in any aspect of life. As the challenges polishes one’s mind and skills. According to my own experience in university, in my junior year, I preferred taking one tough course because I had this urge to learn something new and difficult. Therefore I decided to take a course in biostatistics and I got a bad grade in the subject. However, the silver lining to this decision of mine was that, I learned something new and fought with my brain to understand the depths of the major. Therefore, I think, the pros of taking one tough course outweighs the cons it comes with it. Secondly, taking a difficult course will look good on one’s CV as well and it will help to impress the interviewer. Also, you would not even have to mention the grade on the CV and during the interview no one asks about the grades. Drawing from my own experience, in my final year of university I opted to enroll in advance mathematics which was the toughest subject of all. Moreover, during my interview at one of the prestigious advertising firms, the job interviewer was highly impressed by me because of the advance math course I took. In addition to this, he also offered me to look over the accounts section of the firm which got me a raise in my payroll. In conclusion, taking at least one challenging course has its advantages in the long run, doesn’t matter if you barely passed the subject, what matters is that you challenged yourself and learned something new. This is because it also helps in landing a good job and once you get in the field, you get good at it.