Some people think that economic progress is the main factor responsible for the overall development of a country.

Some experts believe that an overall development of a nation is dependent on numerous factors like technology, science, culture, economic well-being and agriculture, while some state that it's the financial prosperity, which determines whether a country is in a flourishing state or not. I agree with the former opinion, pros and cons shall be discussed further in the composition. Economic progress has multitudes of effect over a nation. It opens the door for job opportunities, aiding government to build good public infrastructure. In many underdeveloped countries for instance, Mozambique, Sudan and Liberia, where poverty and unemployment are a major concern, economic advancement can certainly make them globally renowned, leading to strengthened international ties. However, in developing and developed nations, for instance, India and America, country's accomplishment is measured with new developments in science, farming, art and culture, military forces, aviation and education. Furthermore, measures taken to protect the environment, low crime rate, making people of a nation safe, happy and contended are important key points for a nations popularity. For instance, Japan is a successful nation, however work culture there is very harsh, it has been recently reported in newspapers, that many people of the country have stopped going to work and have caged themselves in their homes, due to excessive bullying. Some others reported that because of excessive work load, people collapse while working. To conclude, though economic strength is a measuring factor for a nations success, but the above mentioned factors such as happiness of citizens, contribution made to protect environment and various other factors cannot be ignored.