Some schools include art in their curriculum to develop creativity of their students. Is it a right approach? Can it have any downsides?

Though modern educational system is concentrated on sciences and technology, there are still efforts to run art classes at some schools. Art as a component of school curriculum is not conceived undoubtedly. There are many debates whether the creativity it evokes in students is measurable with the costs, a school budget spends on it. People often underestimate the things, which do not bring primary results. This is the case with the presence of art subjects at schools. Modern society, mostly having utilitarian approach, questions the practical benefits of art learning. While, the latter can indeed help students in different aspects of their life and career. Learning painting does not necessarily mean to become a painter. It develops a skill, which can be implemented in other spheres, such as architecture, advertisement industry, engineering, to name but a few. Admittedly, inclusion of art in school programs is an important step. From the other side, the costs of an art subject can be much higher, than those of other school courses. For instance, there would be need of musical instruments, if a school has a music class. On the contrary, Math and Literature classes do not require such extra equipment. Thus, every school should take into account those financial expenses, but also the ones, who are responsible for including or excluding art subjects, should keep in mind, that these classes evoke creative thinking in young generation. To sum up, nowadays the school is standing in front of a challenge, which is to justify the existence of art classes in the curriculum. This challenge should be taken, considering the advantages of creative thinking, that pupils gain, attending art classes.