SOME SCHOOLS HAVE RESTRICTED THE USE OF MOBILES. IS THIS A POSITIVE DEVELOPMENT OR A NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT?

These days, in most schools around the world, students have their own mobile phones. While these devices can undoubtedly play a role in safety, connectedness, and even learning, many schools have chosen to restrict their use on campus. In my view, this is a positive step and can bring benefits not only academically but physically and socially too. Restricting phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. This is simply because, without these devices, there are far fewer distractions for teachers and students. When a student has their phone in their lap or pocket, for instance, there is an irresistible urge to check constantly for texts, alerts or social media updates. Even the most observant teacher cannot prevent them from sneakily checking their messages or scrolling through the internet during the lesson. These endless distractions draw attention away from important educational matters and erode attention spans, which can have long-term effects on academic progress. A blanket pan on phones during class frees learners from this compulsive checking and allows them to focus. Restricting phone usage in other school premises like playgrounds, gymnasiums also has a positive effect on the lives of the students. Restricting phone usage at places like the gym encourages the students to take part in physical exercises and sports which are also an essential part of one’s life. Actively participating in various sports not only improves one’s physicality but also instills various important characters like team building in them. Physical exercise helps one to be physically fit and healthy. The endless distraction of phones and social media draws them away from the real world and thus from reality. Thus, completely banning phones from such places allows the students to be in the real-life rather than a virtual world. In conclusion, despite phones are a part of our modern lives, I strongly feel that their use in schools should be limited. With firm boundaries and bans in some situations, students are allowed to learn better, strengthen friendships and engage in healthier pursuits.