Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

Mobile phones have undoubtedly changed the way we all communicate as a species. These little yet powerful machines have given us the access to reach out to anyone, at any moment and in any part of the world. While the benefits resulting from mobile phones are enormous in number, these devices tend to have a deteriorating effect when it comes to education and hence a lot of schools have gone ahead and banned their usage. In my view this is a surely a positive development as the use of mobile phone in schools hamper the kids' educational, mental and social develpoment skills. Restricting the phone usage in class would lead to zero or minimal distraction, hence the students would concentrate more on the subject being taught rather than the new app in town. Just imagine a class wherein the teacher is explaining the young's double slit experiment and the students playing candy crush level 25. Think which of these two would make someone a successful person? Would the students go ahead and achieve something in life? Would they be able to make a good career for themselves? Food for thought! Restricting the phone usage not only prevents these outcomes in students' lives but also leads them to a successful academic life. Prolonged cellphone usage during these crucial years also leads to seclusion from the real world. This is turn could make someone socially incapacitated and create a bubble of social anxiety around them. Schools are a place to meet new people, learn new things and make some great friends for life but the mobile phones suck the life out of this otherwise beautiful scenario. Being constantly glued to the screen and scrolling through unnecessary data in the so called "social" media applications could also result in stunted mental growth. This is because one easily starts to feel comfortable in this virtual world which is devoid of any kind of reality. So the next time you see a school kid yearning for likes on a picture uploaded on an app Instagram try to find out the actual number of friends he/she has outside this digital universe. You will be shocked to find out that the real number would be levels below the digital one. Restricing mobile phones in schools would ensure that kids make the most of their early years in developing social connects and flexing the most important muscle in their body, their mind, in the right way. Technological developments will continue to make mobile phones much more advanced and sophisticated throughout the tides of time but one thing will remain unchanged, and that is the fact that till a certian age is attained humans won't be benifited out of them, rather their lives would further be detoriated. Hence, the decision of restricting mobile phone usage is schools is great step towards ensuring the fact that school kids won't be exposed to something which is beyond their scope of understanding and not to forget their AGE!