Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Information is power, while freedom of expression is a vital feature in this modern era. According to these ideals, many feels that the future of the planet will improve by the open exchange of knowledge among all humans. While motivations for exchanging knowledge openly include the accelerated advancement of technology and the benefit of humanity, I consider that it should not be pursued without pay as information requires financing and security. Technological discoveries will be made quicker and more easily if individuals do not need financial assistance to gain the requisite expertise. There are also brilliant scientists who do not have the means to obtain valuable knowledge to complete their study. However, since the material is free, it is not an obstacle for its development. For example, cancer details can be easily accessible on the Internet, enabling physicians to come up with a pill that helps treat skin cancer and benefits patients around the world. While free information is valuable in this scenario, it is not so in all situations. Most knowledge requires payment to be made and retained. In comparison, certain varieties of data in the wrong hands can be devastating for civilization. There are many experts whose task is to generate analysis and innovative ideas. If they are not paid, they can no longer produce science. In addition, some of this study deals with risky areas, such as nuclear physics and pharmaceuticals. For instance, an act of violence happened when certain criminals were able to learn how to make bombs using free knowledge on the Internet. Clearly, this should not be permitted, and for only this reason, not all knowledge should be readily available to all. In sum, the free distribution of information can aid in some ways, but it can also be harmful to certain societies. While some agree that people should provide as much wisdom as possible, I firmly believe the contrary. People should be careful of underestimating the importance and power of information.