In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, due to the wide spread of technology on every aspect of our life, a plethora of countries are moving forward to relay more upon E-Payment services for most of our payment transactions. Indeed, using such technology has some advantages and drawbacks. So, this essay will shed some light upon how E-Payment services have been a life-saver during the Covid-19 pandemic, then, we will discuss the security issues which comes along using technology; could put our money in jeopardy, and I will conclude on my view point. For a fact, E-Payment has been playing a very saliant rule during the COVID-19 pandemic. While many shops where not allowing the use of cash, the usage of E-Payments like, Mastercard or iPhone quick pay function have helped to reduce and limit the physical interactions. For instance, Google pay, Amazon pay & Apple pay has come as a saver to us, as we can do all our shopping and pay with one touch on our devices. What is more, the excessive usage of the cash withdrawal machines (ATMs) have increased the risk of theft, as a result, the usage of E-Payment services have resulted in eliminating this risk. Moreover, the use of E-Payment Apps help tracking down all our expenses. In fact, multiple payment apps are now offering a monthly expenses statement. Because of this saliant function, Many of us are more able to make our spending more efficient. On the other hand, there are a security issue which comes along the usage of technology. Hence, this security risk gives a chance to many hackers to hack and steal our bank accounts. Although those apps and platforms are facilitating our life, there are a continuous risk of losing our private information by hackers. For instance, one study made by Norton Company (leading English company in cyber security) has confirmed that there are almost a 100 hacking attack which occur every 1 minute. However, multiple governments are playing a very crucial rule in order to tackle this matter. While many governments are imposing security layers for any app or E-payment method used, this helps to reduce the security risk by minimum. Hence, many security companies are developing antiviruses programs in order to prevent and detect any security issue which may arouse as a result. For instance, if we are using antiviruses like Norton, Kaspersky antiviruses, this may help to reduce cyber risks to minimum. All in all, using E-Payment methods have more advantages which includes instant online payments, reduced physical interactions and decreased risk of theft. however, because of the greedy nature of humans, there will always a cyber risk which comes a long the usage of technology. Nevertheless, with some care, focus and awareness; cyber risks can be reduced to minimum. For that, the advantages of using E-Payment are outweighing its drawbacks.