Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is it a positive development or a negative one?

It has become common for schools to restrict the usage of the mobile phone for childrens. Although these devices can bring safety and connectedness, many schools have decided to get rid of gadgets among the students. I believe that it is a positive development, which is beneficial for the academic progress of childrens. Firstly, restricting usage of mobile phones can improve the learning skills of students. Gadgets always distract childrens from the academic process and teacher, because they interfere with them. It is rather obvious that without these devices there are far fewer distractions for both teacher and students. It is hard for teachers to focus student’s attention on the lesson, when time-to-time they check updates from social media and scroll web-pages. Even student’s are not able to focus their mind on the lesson due to persistent distractions. Thus, they can lose a lot of considerable information on the class and it could have long-term effects on the progress. A full ban of devices frees students from this problem. Secondly, there is nothing more essential when it comes to health. And it is rather obvious that such restrictions have to improve student’s well-being. If students check their devices far fewer, they will avoid long-term problems with eyes and other persistent health issues, provided by mobile phone addiction. Moreover, the lack of devices could ameliorate a student's social skills, because under these circumstances they will be forced to communicate with classmates. In conclusion, taking into account briefly discussed arguments, I would like to reaffirm my position that restricting the mobile phone is a positive development, because it could improve student’s academic progress and well-being.