Some say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their spare time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

In some cultures, parents seem desperate for their sons and daughters to participate in social activities with others, whereas those bringing up children in different parts of the world prefer them to spend significant amounts of time by themselves. Obviously, raising children successfully is of paramount importance so these child-rearing strategies should be assessed. There are several reasons why children benefit from doing things together. Interacting with others allows them to develop key social skills such as negotiating, conflict resolution and teamwork. These abilities will impress prospective employers in later years. In addition, youngsters who engage with their peers are likely to form long-lasting friendships which will enrich their lives. Finally, many fun and exciting activities including team-sports, picnics and treasure hunts can only be done in groups. However, it is essential to recognize the importance of being alone. It can enable children to become more resourceful and independent. These are attributes which will make them far more employable as adults. As well as that, children who play on their own are invariably more creative. Having a vivid imagination leads to a richer and more fulfilling life. Lastly, if youngsters are not continually forced to play with others, they will have the opportunity to reflect on their experiences and on themselves. This might make them more mature when older. Clearly, both of these approaches have merits and the only sensible strategy is to give children a wide range of opportunities and allow them to enjoy communal and solitary activities. As most of us have a natural inclination towards introversion or extroversion, it is crucial that parents encourage their offspring to do the kind of things which they are less comfortable with. This will turn them into fully-rounded and successful adults.