Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

It is fascinating to see the ever-increasing popularity of shopping as a way of relaxation. For many, it has impacted us in both good and bad ways. In this essay, I will discuss how self obsession and improved living standard can be considered as main reason for this trend and also effects of excessive shopping on individuals and society as a whole. Obsession among people to look good has increased so much these days. Everyone wants to look better than all to impress others. For this reason, they shop and buy latest trend clothes that are available in market. Also, the standard of living has improved in comparison to early days. Therefore, people can afford to shop more and they pass their free time shopping. There are several effects of excessive shopping. Individual’s expenses have raised and savings have dropped. This is because people spend large part of their income on purchasing things and products and most of the times the purchases made are not required or necessary. It is seen that people for instance, visit shopping malls on weekends to pass their time and end up buying unnecessary things. On society it has adverse effect as landfill is increasing due to more shopping. Indeed, amount of waste disposal, resource extraction has raised by huge volume. In addition, level of pollution has also increased due to the large number of factories that have been set up for production as a result of increased demand. In conclusion, although people are taking it as a fun activity to pass time, a though should be given to the impact it has on us and our society. Instead, we should try and shift to less harmful ways of entertainment.