Some say that knowledge from experience is better than knowledge gained from books. Some say it is the other way around.

From the Greek philosophers to the modern scientist of today's era, mankind has been trying to unravel the mysteries of the world. Because of this, a debated topic of whether pursuers of knowledge should obtain learnings from books or rather is it better to seek information from experience? Acquiring knowledge information from books can be truly beneficial because literature contains detailed statements. For instance, medical books have comprehensive sets of data, which is vital for medical students because these types of books have been revised and updated for accuracy. In addition, the knowledge from textbooks has been passed from previous scientists who have already researched the subject. This, in turn, provides multiple references to those who want to learn more about a specific field of science. Arguably, some scholars advise that experience is the key to truly getting information. With experience, one undergoes a series of daily routines, which provides the learner with familiarity. An example would be doctors, they go through a process of becoming a resident in many areas of the hospital to obtain the relevant information to become a more well-rounded physician. Another reason is that attaining knowledge is not instant, rather it is a process. By experiencing different situations an individual is able to obtain past experiences to tailor fit the circumstances. Emergency room staff in hospitals often know what to do just by looking at the patient being rolled in by a stretcher. In my opinion, gaining knowledge from books and experience can boost the learning experience considerably, instead of choosing one from the other. Future academics should utilize all means available to find the secrets of our society.