Some say that in today's world the value of humanities has been eclipsed by the necessity of preparing for specific wealth-producing careers, such as medicine. Discuss whether you think there is a role in today's changing world for study of the humanities.

The impact of medicine to our society, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial, while some people believe that there are benefits of studying medicine, others claim that this can bring problems than benefits. This essay will elaborate both sides of the debate, and thus lead to a logical conclusion. At the outset, there are numerous reasons why studying medicine would develop a treatment for uncurable diseases such as diabetes, schizophrenia and cancer, but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that studying medicine would improve people's health and wellbeing. An instance illustrating action is the fact that the survey conducted at the University of Canberra, which indicates that 60 % of people in Korea often believe that studying medicine has good advantages to the society. Furthermore, medicine would assist in developing modern equipment to use in the healthcare industry. Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that studying medicine can bring a lot of disadvantages. It is largely attributed to the fact that this would be an expensive course for individuals to study medicine. For example, the article published in the Times magazines, which clearly illustrates that the majority of medical students worldwide are struggling to pay up their educational loan. In conclusion, while there are strong arguments on both sides of the debate, I strongly believe that medicine is quite essential to our society; therefore, people are allowed to visit their doctors in regard to their health problems.